You had a really great dinner with friends. You shared a couple of drinks and enjoyed tons of laughter and memories. You ate with your drinks, so when it’s time to leave, you feel like you’re just fine to drive…
And then you see those flashing red and blue lights in your rearview mirror, and you realize maybe you should have called for a ride.
By this time of the night it’s too late to take it back, so what do you do? Take a look at these tips, and don’t forget to hire a DWI lawyer to help.
DWI Laws in Texas
In Texas, a first and second DWI offense are typically misdemeanors. The charges still show up on your record, but may not be as severe as a felony charge. DWIs occur when you are operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
On the third offense, the DWI charge is a felony offense in Texas. According to Texas penal codes, a DWI occurs when you are operating a vehicle while impaired by alcohol, drugs, or other similar substances, or when you have an alcohol level that exceeds 0.08.
In some cases, you may be asked to complete a breath test, a field sobriety test, or possibly even a blood test to determine the levels of alcohol or other substances in your bloodstream.
A DWI Could Cost You
Getting a DWI charge and conviction certainly won’t be cheap. If you are convicted for a first or second offense, the charges could be as follows. These will depend on the class of misdemeanor:
- Up to one year in jail
- Fines up to $4,000
- License suspension up to two years
These are the maximum sentences for both Class A and B misdemeanors in Texas. If you are charged with felony DWI, the conviction could cost as follows:
- Up to two years in jail
- Fines up to $10,000
This will also result in a felony on your legal record, which could impact other areas of your life. These costs do not take into account any legal costs that you may incur.
Having DWI Charges Reduced
In some cases, you may be able to have your charges reduced with the help of an attorney. In most cases, the possibility will heavily depend on any prior charges you’ve faced, as well as the evidence that the prosecution has against you in this case.
For example, having no prior convictions could work in your favor. Being respectful and obedient to law enforcement might also benefit you. While your charges may not be dismissed, they might be reduced to a lesser charge, such as reckless driving or obstructing a highway or passageway.
These charges have lower sentences and will not look as severe on your record.
If you’re interested in trying to get a reduced charge from a DWI, you will want to hire a trustworthy and experienced DWI lawyer to help you navigate the process through the courts.